Finance Minister Janardan Sharma resigns


Finance Minister Janardan Sharma has resigned from the post. Addressing the House of Representatives on Wednesday, the Finance Minister resigned.

Finance Minister Sharma has resigned after questions were raised about the involvement of unauthorized persons in the preparation of the budget.

UML had been demanding his resignation after the news was published that the tax rate had been manipulated in the budget after an unauthorized person entered the Ministry of Finance on May 30.

An 11-member investigation committee was formed today to probe Finance Minister Sharma as per the demand of UML.

Khagraj Adhikari, Dev Gurung, Pushpa Bhusal, Pradip Gyawali, Bhanubhakta Dhakal, Vimala Bik, Laxman Lal Karna, Shakti Bahadur Basnet, Sarala Kumari Yadav, Sitaram Mahato and Surendra Prasad Yadav are the MPs from different parties in the Parliamentary Investigation Special Committee. The committee has been given 10 days.

Bharat Mohan and Vishnu Poudel did not resign

After the formation of the investigation committee, the finance minister resigned. However, those who became ministers from the UML in the past did not resign during the controversy. A parliamentary committee had investigated Bharat Mohan and Bishnu Poudel after they got into a controversy when they were finance ministers.

When Jhala Nath Khanal was the Prime Minister, he was the Finance Minister in 2068 BS. At that time, a parliamentary inquiry committee was formed after the issue of budget leak was protested in the parliament. He did not resign after the investigation committee was formed.

Similarly, Poudel was the Finance Minister in 2073 BS when UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli became the Prime Minister. Even when Poudel was the finance minister, the budget was leaked and a parliamentary inquiry committee was formed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.